Apple pushes silent Mac update to remove hidden Zoom web server

Apple has released a silent update for Mac users removing a vulnerable component in Zoom, the popular video conferencing app, which allowed websites to automatically add a user to a video call without their permission.

Apple said the update does not require any user interaction and is deployed automatically.

Thank you, Apple!



6 thoughts on “Apple pushes silent Mac update to remove hidden Zoom web server”

  1. I agree in theory but can you imagine trying to summarize the issue to Jane and Joe User?

  2. Easy. “Hello User. Zoom has really screwed the pooch here. We’ve taken them out to the woodshed and beaten their asses bloody. They promise not to do it again. As a user of their product, we’re making a fix for their colossal screwup available for you right now.” 🙂

  3. This is enabled when you allow Apple to update your Mac automatically in System Preferences. (the checkbox for ‘install data files and security updates’ in System Update ->Advanced. ) Apple’s been doing too to update things like their anti malware for a few versions now…maybe 10.11? 10.10?

  4. “….does not require any user interaction and is deployed automatically.”

    NO NO NO! BAD APPLE! At least let the user know you’re doing this and let THE USER DECIDE whether they want to go ahead or not.

  5. They got the message alrighty.

    I don’t have a problem with this. But maybe it’s because I already fired up Terminal and took Zoom out already.

    There are times when Apple should do exactly that, but it is amazing they didn’t at least pop up a notification telling us it had just removed this malware.

    But then, do they ever notify people of malware removal?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *