iOS 12 automatically saves iMessage photos to your Photos library

Cult of Mac:

If you take a photo inside the Messages app in iOS 11 and earlier, that photo stays trapped in the message thread forever, unless you explicitly long-press and save it to your camera roll. In iOS 12, that’s changed. Now, when you take a photo using the messages app, any pictures you snap are saved to your Photos library. But that’s not quite the whole story.

This is one of those changes Apple often makes that they don’t tell the user about. It’s also something not everyone wants.



7 thoughts on “iOS 12 automatically saves iMessage photos to your Photos library”

  1. This is a tough decision. Worst case this way is you have some extra photos to delete; worst case the other way is that some photos you’d rather keep are lost. So just making it a switch in Settings is probably a bad idea, and I think if you’re going to pick between one of the existing behaviours Apple has done the right thing.

    A nice compromise might be to keep these photos in a dedicated album in Photos for a while and make them easier to delete.

  2. I don’t like this. I like having to take an extra step to explicitly state that I want to save the photo. It puts me in more control of the process.

    At the moment I don’t tend to use the in-Messages camera. I take the photo regularly with the camera, and share it within Photos to Messages. That gives me the opportunity to edit the photo if I feel like it.

  3. I like this idea. This was one of my biggest annoyances with the beta. I often take photos of things with the Messages app to send a picture to someone that I never want to save. If I want to save it, I take a picture with the camera first, then send it via Messages.

    I would rather they do this by default and give me an option (even if it’s well-hidden and comes with a double-confirmation dialog box) to turn it off, though. I now have to do so much more photo maintenance than I ever did before.

  4. A better solution would be to have a save button next to the image. Similar to the mute button next to animojis.

  5. Yep a lot of body parts will get saved in the cloud and then sync back to all your devices now 🙂 Viva the family ipad 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *