Apple’s syncing of call log history is nothing

So Apple has been syncing call log history and some people have been reporting this as a major problem. Here’s Apple’s statement:

“We offer call history syncing as a convenience to our customers so that they can return calls from any of their devices. Apple is deeply committed to safeguarding our customers’ data. That’s why we give our customers the ability to keep their data private. Device data is encrypted with a user’s passcode, and access to iCloud data including backups requires the user’s Apple ID and password. Apple recommends all customers select strong passwords and use two-factor authentication.”

How the hell did you think Apple was able to get this information on all of your devices if they weren’t syncing it? There’s nothing to see here.



6 thoughts on “Apple’s syncing of call log history is nothing”

  1. I think the concern is related to the San Bernadino case. Your data is safe from prying government eyes when it is on your devices, but not when it’s on Apple’s servers.

  2. The question is whether or not there is a way to turn off the syncing if you are the phone owner, with or without disassociating other devices from the iCloud account. If the phone were on its own iCloud account, would the data still get synced to iCloud? It is not then solely on the phone.

  3. Does the data sync if I have call forwarding turned off but have an iCloud account? I’m a psychotherapist and I’m not sure this would be HIPPA compliant

  4. Yes. If both devices are signed into the same iCloud account, the data syncs automatically. I have found no way to disable the syncing and have been told by Apple Support that it is by design.

    Super annoying, too, because it makes it hard to tell if someone called my work phone or my personal phone, so I don’t know whether or not I should call back if they don’t leave a voicemail.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *